Colorado teachers sign pledge to teach Critical Race Theory even if banned in classroom

Article author: 
Sherrie Peif
Article publisher: 
Complete Colorado
Article date: 
2 September 2021
Article category: 
Colorado News
Article Body: 

A project in the name of the late, self-proclaimed socialist college professor Howard Zinn has gathered thousands of signatures of teachers nationwide, including about 100 from Colorado, pledging to teach the tenets of Critical Race Theory (CRT) in their classrooms despite any bans by any state government or a local school district....

All of the signatures, which now total more than 7,300 nationwide, can be found on the organization’s website, which warns all signers that their names will be public. It is assumed that most of the signers of the pledge are teachers. Although the site asks for the educational role of the person signing, the site only shows names, locations and comments if any....

The Wire also gathered the names of the following Colorado teachers who had signed the pledge:

  • Alamosa — Rhonda Schoenecker; Arvada —James Crider, Kathy Zaleski, Maya Thieme; Aurora — Erin Boyce, Jane Barber, Megan Ostedgaard, Miguel Ortega, Tanya Solano; Avon — Martha Mcglinchy Teien; Berthoud — Tim Kubik; Boulder — Barry Sparks, Heather Carr, Kelly Molinet, Victoria Hand; Brighton — Deborah Figueroa; Broomfield — Janel Ramsey, Rachel Knoche, Riann Sahnow; Colorado Springs — David Benson, Dwanna McKay, James Gregg, Jane Murphy, Todd Craig; Commerce City — Gary Kidd Conifer — Anne Nelson; Denver — Abraham Ornelas-Palacios, Ambria Reed, Becky Martinez, Briana Gonzales, CJ Hendrickson, Caitlin Ross, Carol Hunter, Christian Holmes, Daniel Lopez, Douglas Moehle, Erin Anderson, Erin Rolf, Jennifer Courtney-Keyse, Jessica Perry, Jessica Wainman, Lauren Snella, Lisa Hellmann, Marc-Paul Johnsen, Mark Sass, Megan Taylor, Michael Rollolazo, Molly Ewing, Raven Medrano, Scott Ramsey, Tyrone Yarbrough, Venessa Valdez, Victoria Tubbs, ilyanna kreske Durango — Alicia McClung; Englewood — Joe Riehl; Erie — Kelly Feinstein-Johnson; Evergreen — Julia Fliss, Rick Roadruck; Fort Collins — Barbara Janssen, Kurt Knierim, Lisa Neal, Wendy Bergman; Golden — Hayley Breden, Melinda Bowers; Greeley — Annie White, Richard Cieminski; Lafayette — Jacob Jansen; Littleton — Hannah McClain, Lindsey Widstrom, Susan Cox; Longmont —Katie Torres, Lynn Lovett Barr, Michael Rees; Louisville —Christine Manzo, Tiffany Boyd; Parker — Michael Laudick; Pueblo — Mike Maes; Telluride — Lauren Norton, Theresa Koenigsknecht; Thornton —Cameron Leonard; Usaf Academy — Caroline Falzone, Christopher Nemec, Jessica Wittebols, Kathryn Derrah, Trina Corley; Westminster — Pete Newlove; Wheat Ridge — Andres Martinez.

More names have been added since the initial story by the Wire, including Josan Perales of Estes Park who wrote: “We must ‘go for broke’ as fierce and conscious educators fighting for liberation for ALL. THIS is the work.”

And Kristie Edwards of Arvada who wrote: “Because scientists like George Washington Carver can change a future!”

The full list of names can be found at They are listed randomly and are not grouped by state.


Fighting Back Against Critical Race Theory